Sunday, September 2, 2012

"Win A Free iPad3" Scam

This is an old scam, telling people that they've won a free iPad and directing them to a website to claim it.
"your contest entry was chosen as our prizewinner! Tell us where to send it ipad3winner[DOT]net
 I did a WHOIS search of the domain and got this
owner-name: David Adams
owner-street: 4785 E Bow Ct
owner-city: Floral City
owner-state: Florida
owner-zip: 34436
owner-country: US
owner-phone: +1.3522016729

btw, the domain is also registered to this person.

Another site that is associated with this scam is
 owner-organization: SuperBids
owner-name: Dave Allen
owner-street: 485 E. Gobbler Ct
owner-city: Ocoee
owner-state: FL
owner-zip: 34446
owner-country: QA
owner-phone: +974.2874492241

Going to either site, you will be redirected to this website
and WINDAILYGADGETS.COM is a Hong Kong-registered domain, as you can see from a WHOIS search I did on them
      Online Gift Shack
      20/F-33F One International Finiance Center 1 Harbour View St
      Hong Kong, Hong Kong HK
      Phone: +852.8885815503
Domain Name:
      Created on..............: 2011-06-08
      Expires on..............: 2013-06-08

There is a contact link on the claim page and you can go here to contact them directly. I can't guarantee that they will respond or do anything in response to your complaints.

Duane Browning

Post a Comment